Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

Dinner Party

Posted by Gexx on August 24, 2009

About once a month or so, the Historical Archaeologists in my department like to have our own little dinner party.  It allows us to connect in a more homey environment than our MondayNightMargaritas did.  And, as few of us own an actual dining room table, we have much more freedom for mixing and gathering within the party.  I like to do mine when the weather is still warm.  Some people are allergic to cats, and this way I can leave my doors open in the front and back (cats are stuck in the bedroom), have the fan and AC bring in fresh air, and we can go outside if we want.

So I’m hosting the one for August.  I’m having it on Sunday, as the grad student picnic (aka: party for people to bring their kids – therefor, I’m not going) is Saturday.  My theme, I think, will be Brunch for Dinner.  I was originally thinking of going for the Breakfast for Dinner thing but….

I’ll be in the field all day Sunday.

That’s right.  I am going to come home at 6PM covered in dirt and have guests over at 7PM.  So I need lots of “make ahead” foods.  I was doing some research today and I think I will make:

– Bruschetta, goat cheese, and avacado spread to top toasted rounds

Savory Egg Pudding

Roasted Sausages with Grape/Mint dressing (fresh grapes are hitting the farmer’s market)

– Roasted Potatoes

Zucchini Carpaccio

Peach Pudding

And then the guests bring the fixings for Bellinis, Mimosas, and Bloody Mary’s.

Leave a Reply

 
