Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

Pasta Making

Posted by Gexx on April 4, 2009

Last night M and I made pasta. I had been wanting to use my pasta maker for quite a long time and I finally cornered M when we both had time. I had a bag and a half of semolina flour, and I wanted to use it ALL!

The recipe on the back of the bag stated:
1.5 c semolina flour
2 eggs or 3 egg whites beaten
2 tbsp water
2 tbsp olive oil

I had 6 cups of flour, so I mixed that with the 8 eggs, 1 cup water, and 1 cup olive oil (1 liquid tbsp= 1 liquid oz). The dough had the consistency of batter, so I added some wholewheat flour I have. Eventually it got to a doughy consistancy.

Come to find out, I should have added either the whole eggs *or* the eggwhites, oil, and water. So I had enough liquid for twice as much flour!

Flour Flour Everywhere

Using the machine, we learned that we still needed to continually add flour to the dough, which makes sense as the dough gets thinner and then cut into noodles there is more surface area. That’s why there’s so much flour in this:

We planned to take the noodles from the machine and then hang them, but so many broke and ended up on the floor.

Rack o Pasta

Structurally Unsound
We eventually made a line where noodles were lined up on dish towels until they were a little stiff and then finished up being hung. After they dried (hopefully) sufficiently, they were tossed in flour again and then placed in freezer bags. Out of 3 pounds of flour and 2.5 hours of work, we probably ended up with 3 pounds of noodles due to breakage.
Top of Stove

However, it was a learning experience, and I made a yummy bolognese sauce last night to put with part of our creation. They were really awesome, which I guess in the end, is what matters!

Leave a Reply

 
