Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

The Problem with “Women’s Health”

Posted by Gexx on April 2, 2009

I’m part of that marvelous special interest group that McCain pointed out as not really important because we require “airquotes.” The group that requires “Women’s Health.”

I need my annual exam.  Previous years I’ve gone to a Family Practitioner whose practice had a slightly subtle anti-choice bent.  The first time I didn’t catch it, but the second time I went, there were signs all around about how the clinic respects “the sanctity of life.”

This year I looked for someone else. The Walgreen’s next to my house has a walk in, Take Care Clinic, so I went over today to check it out. Walgreen’s is the only place in the area I’ve been able to get PlanB, so I felt comfortable going there. I go to find that the clinic, while it states that it offers a woman’s physical and that it takes my insurance, does not write prescriptions for birth control. The FNP there helps me by calling around to previous places she’s worked at including the Repro Health Clinic that is right next to M’s where anti-choice posterholders are gathered every morning.

I get into my car and call a few other places that she recommended to find that to use my insurance I need a referral from … someone, but no one knows who. I go home and go online to call the University’s Health Services. The first number I call, marked “Family Planning” is for the county’s FP office, but they tell me I need to call the appointment line for the UHS. So I do. I can get an appointment / referral through them, but only after I pay $82 because they consider me “part time” even though the rest of the University considers me full time. And I need to wait more than two weeks to get the appointment.

So I call the Repro Health Clinic again. I can get in on Monday. It’s about $90. And I know I can get parking. The woman on the phone reminds me of their location, I mention that I see the poster holders there every morning. She says they’re their best advertisement. We giggle.

I think that we have an issue when I get better, faster treatment at similar prices when I DON’T use my insurance.

The Health Care Debacle proven through anecdotal evidence.

Leave a Reply

 
