Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

just one more tree

Posted by Gexx on March 29, 2009

So I discovered that my Orient Pear (Pyrus communis) is *not* self pollinating. At least, that’s what the Arbor day foundation tells me, and if I can’t believe them, who can I believe.

::eyeroll::

So after calling around to see who sold the required Kieffer pears (Pyrus communis x P. pyrifolia), which are in fact self fertile. M and I ventured to Pope’s Garden Center in Maryville to pick one up.

While there, I picked up a started seedling of Mr. Stripey tomatoes and a four pack of hot peppers.

On the way home, it started to rain and got significantly colder, so I set the tree on its side (it’s really windy) to be planted tomorrow when it will be back in the 60s and sunny

So the current list of trees are:
Stanley Plum
Orient Pear
Keiffer Pear

I’m considering purchasing an Apricot tree from the Arbor Day foundation as well as some forsythias and lilacs to create a flowering boundary between my house and the industrial storage yard next door. They’re generally quiet, just moving equipment in and out now and again, but that doesn’t mean it’s pretty.

My other plants, which are doing rather well in the sprouter, are:
Roma Tomatoes
Cherokee Purple Tomatoes
Kale
Squash
Broccoli
and peppers, but i don’t remember at the moment what type they are

Leave a Reply

 
