Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

The Pot Roast

Posted by Gexx on February 8, 2009

After I blogged, twittered, and changed my myspace status to reflect the demise of the pot roast, after I have been asked by not fewer than 4 people about the conclusion of my dissapointment, I will provide the final act.

I returned to the kitchen after about an hour to determine what could be saved.  I cut open the potroast and although the outside was 'overcooked', it wasn't burned.  The onions, which I thought were burned and had no liquid had the tiniest amount of liquid left and their dark brown color was because of the beef broth and red wine.  So, I cut apart the pot roast, added more water to the onions, and decided to give it a try.  I brought it back to a simmer, and when Morgan walked in the door I added the potatoes and rutabagas.  Once they were soft I thickened the broth with some flour.  We scooped the hot mixture of beef falling to pieces and soft potatoes and rutabagas with a thick gravy over a slice of bread topped with chopped kale (we needed some greens).

It was very good.

I haven't lost my touch.

Leave a Reply

 
