Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

theoretical cabbage!

Posted by Gexx on February 3, 2009

I’m waiting for Morgan to head over so I can get dinner going.  I have everything chopped and ready, but I don’t want it ready before he gets here (I’m hungry, but courtious)

First: Twitter during Superbowl.

Second, I’m trying out a cabbage recipe.  For some reason I saw a thing of braised sweet and sour cabbage on Top Chef and it started this craving in my tummy.  I just read the ‘fluff’ that came along with the recipe:

“a silent conviction took shape within me: cabbage must be defended! What we have here is cabbage under siege! Cabbage must no longer be linked to discipline and punishment; no, it’s part of the natural order of things! By the time we arrived at my stop, I had it: an outline of a theory of cabbage.

Dear reader, you know that it’s time to close the book on graduate school when even vegetables call to mind famous works of social theory, such as Michel Foucault’s “Society Must Be Defended,” Discipline and Punish, and The Order of Things; Zygmunt Bauman’s Society Under Siege; and Pierre Bourdieu’s Outline of a Theory of Practice. I wince just typing this, and I pity my poor companions on the bus, who I probably blinded with the blazing rays of geekiness emanating from my feverish brain.”

I heart Foucault.  I heart Bourdieu.  I own Discipline and Punish and I borrowed Outline of a Theory of Practice from my professor and devoured it.

Hopefully the recipe comes out appropriately yummy.

Third, I found on BoingBoing a video of a kid on drugs (he had oral surgery). 

His dad says:

“This is my 7 year old son who had an extra tooth removed last summer, 2008. I had the camera because he was so nervous before I wanted him to see before and after.
He was so out of it after, I had to carry him out of the office. The staff was laughing and I had tears it was so funny.
He is doing fine now and the teeth are great.”

Here’s the video

Leave a Reply

 
