Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

Dating A Banker Anonymously – love or money

Posted by Gexx on February 1, 2009

Dating A Banker Anonymously seems to have stirred up a whole bunch of attention.

I first heard of it on Feministing, where they decryed its exclusive disempowering heteronormativity (apparently only straight girls date for money) and the amount of priviledge the readers/writers enjoyed before the economy.  I found it to basically be a mirror of all the bleach blonde, bed tanned LonGisland girls who whined to their parents that “$200 a week just isn’t enough” on their weekly phone calls.  

This apparently started from a NY Times article about “Wall Street Widows.”  NPR called out NYT on the legitimacy of  the site.

Then a friend wrote about it, addressing whether she would choose a partner for love or for money.

There’s something to be said about starting from the rough bottom.  I’ve thought about having money, not from me as my career path won’t allow for it, but if I were to have a partner with a good job.  I think we would live comfortably and simply.  But I’ve learned from my spotty employment that having five digits in the bank is a good safety net, and if I could have six, or even seven or eight come retirement, then we could continue to live our comfortable life.

Leave a Reply

 
