Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

My Cookware

Posted by Gexx on January 27, 2009

I have the most awesome cookware, let me tell you about it.

My grandmother passed away two summers ago (this is part of the story).  That fall my grandfather decided to move into a small assisted living community in Massachusetts.  This meant that he had to downsize… a whole bunch.  He had been living in Florida, but Massachusetts meant that he could be nearer to some family.  On the way up, he stopped by Knoxville.  He had boxes of things for me.  Great, just what I needed, more stuff.  It took a few weeks for me to go through all the boxes, and I never quite got back to the level of clean as I had before he brought boxes and boxes of dusty stuff to my house.

Going through it I ended up with random pieces of games, camp chairs, and such erratic shtuff.  Two sets of the shtuff were actually worth keeping.  And even if they weren't, there was no way I would be forgiven if they ended up in a goodwill bin, ebay, or the collectors markets.

One was my grandmother's wedding china, from her first marriage.  This is serious 1940s/1950s china.  You know, 12 place settings with platinum edging.  Needless to say, it got packed up in newsprint and put in big hard Tupperwares.  Because the next thing I need is *more* dishes that I can't put in the microwave.

The second is a full set of Guardian Service cast/hammered aluminium waterless cookware, her wedding pots which she has used for cooking since.  Everything: roasting pan, 4 quart, 3 quart, 2 quart, 1 quart, skillet.  It's great.  It has glass lids and I've accidentally broken one in the year that I've had them.  It's ok, though, because I have another lid of the same size. 

They are great to work with.  Because they're thick, the bottom doesn't get hot spots, and once the entire pot is hot, I can put the temperature on low and it will still keep bubbling.  Because they're aluminium, they're strong.

I wanted to see if there were any other sizes that I might not have, so I checked ebay.  Apparently these pots are *still* extremely popular even though they've been out of production since 1956.  They're all more the FIFTY YEARS OLD.  And still functional!

wow

Leave a Reply

 
