Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

cookies

Posted by Gexx on January 19, 2009

Obama pictures and McCain pictures
see Sarah Palin

pictures

(and now more funny)

funny pictures of cats with captions
more animals

I really need to find my camera so I can start taking pictures and get
them on my cooking blog.

Last night I made up two batches of cookies. One was a simple peanut
butter cookie. The other was a lavender shortbread that I had been
wanting to try for a while. Most of the lavender recipes included
lemon zest, so I through that in there too. I used the “The Best
Shortbread in the World” recipe from my new <i>Cook with Jamie</i>
book. It was such an impressive title that I just needed to. My
recipe includes a few changes: Lavender, Lemon, and cooking times.
His required a 9×9 pan, but I only had 8×8. I grow my own lavender.
I also have a surplus for cooking from my local Co-op.

Ingredients:
1 cup + 2 tbsp unsalted butter at room temperature
1/2 cup +1 tbsp superfine sugar
barely 2 cups sifted flour
barely 1 cup cornstarch
1tsp lemon zest
1 tbsp lavender florets
extra butter
extra flour
some regular sugar

Oven: 300 F

Butter 8×8 pan.

With wooden spoon, cream butter and sugar. Add lemon zest and
lavender. Add flour and cornstarch. Mix until smooth, you may need
your hands.

Push dough into pan. Don’t forget the corners!

Prick with fork.

Bake 1 hour.

While still warm, sprinkle with regular sugar.

Allow to cool some, cut. Allow to cool more, eat.

“Dear Lord: The gods have been good to me. For the first time in my life, everything is absolutely perfect just the way it is. So here’s the deal: You freeze everything the way it is, and I won’t ask for anything more. If that is OK, please give me absolutely no sign. OK, deal. In gratitude, I present you this offering of cookies and milk. If you want me to eat them for you, give me no sign. Thy will be done.” – Homer Simpson

“One day when he was eating a cookie he offered me a bite. Don’t underestimate that. The poor guy’s so frightened of germs, it could darn near have been a proposal.” – Jean Harlow

Leave a Reply

 
