Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

calmness

Posted by Gexx on January 18, 2009

It was rather sedentary around here today.  I read some of the Archaeological Resources Protection Act of 1966 and compared it to the Antiquities Act of 1906.  Morgan for his CIS readings is starting in on Clifford Geertz, including his Reports of a Balanese Cockfight.  Geertz was one of the first big Anthropologists who tried the "Participant Observation" technique, prior to him the Anthropologists were stodgy individuals, often sent by a colonial government to learn about the newly conquored primative society, who hung out with other stodgy whites.  A few exceptions (pardon me if I have my timeline wrong) are Zora Neale Hurston and I believe Margaret Mead.  Geertz is relatively easy to read.  I should know, he was required reading for me FOUR YEARS AGO.

  ::eyeroll at realization of extant time in Knoxville::

“The purpose of anthropology is to make the world safe for human differences.” – Ruth Benedict

“Sometimes, I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It's beyond me.” – Zora Neale Hurston

Leave a Reply

 
