Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

food enjoyment

Posted by Gexx on January 17, 2009

Earlier this week I had a craving for split pea soup, so i decided I would make it on Saturday.  Morgan was up for that (he always is).  Through the week I found out that  River Ridge Farm and Green Man Farm were having a drop at the coop, so I decided that I would get the soup going mid morning and run out at noon to get me some meat and eggs.  That was the plan until I had 160 ounces of beer last night (thanks morgan).  So the soup got started *after* I had my hangover prevention breakfast of eggs, hot sauce, toast, and naproxyn sodium, a long shower, and the run to the pick up.  I snagged a dozen eggs (excited!), a pumpkin for roasting, 4 pork chops (two packs of two, so perfect for Morgan and myself), and about half a pound of good fatty neck bacon.  They also had sausages and chickens, but I'm still working through the meat my mother sent down.

Last night for dinner I made us some steaks that I found in my freezer, roasted-garlic-butter noodles (morgan made those), beersimmered onions and mushrooms (for the steak), and
Brussel Sprouts.    The sprouts were AWESOME.  I thought I would give small, fresh sprouts a try since my only other experiance has been with ugly nasty over boiled frozen icky slimeballs.

back to the soup.

I live on good soup, not on fine words. – Moliere

The only thing chicken about Israel is their soup. – Bob Hope

Leave a Reply

 
