Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

Ringing in the New Year: Wine (and WoW)

Posted by Gexx on January 2, 2009

The new year in Knoxville was rung in rather uneventfully, but still satisfactorily.  There were invitations, but one party was with Eric in Cookeville (1.5 hours away) and the other was with a few people I really didn't know.  Morgan and I were tempted to the Cookeville one, but I really didn't want to sleep on a couch.  I guess I'm getting older.

So what did we do?  Well, we went out and got some fancy cheeses and then we hooked up with Heather on World of Warcraft and watched some fireworks in Stormwind (one of the in game cities) and drank in-game wine and got our characters drunk. Which is funny as the screen gets blurry, the avatar can't walk straight, and when you chat, the speach is slurred and interrupted by "hic"s.  During all of this Morgan and I finished 4 bottles of wine: a vino verde, Badger Mountain organic Reisling, Pacific Rim Dry Reisling, and a sparkling shiraz for the New Year bubbly.

On the Vino Verde: I had heard about them before so when we hit Downtown Wine and Spirits (awesome btw!) and I saw one I snagged it.  It went marvelously with the blue cheese with honey and pecans.  The VV has a light, citrusy, GREEN flavor … and it's SPARKLY!  I'm so very glad that we decided to drink it first because it had a delicate flavor. I will definately try it again.

I was looking up VV's trying to find the lable of the one we had – it had a flower on it – a big vibrent one that the lable said was painted by the vinyardowner's 4 year old grand/daughter/neice.  Then I find that this one is one of WineLoversPage.com's best wines under $15 for 2008.  Well, I passed up the Gazela for the one I bought based on the store clerk's advice (it was still under $15) so I guess next time I'll try Gazela…. then we shall see which is better!

For last year's words belong to last year's language and next year's words await another voice. – T. S. Elliot

Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man.  – Benjamin Franklin

One Response to “Ringing in the New Year: Wine (and WoW)”

  1. Karla said

    A customer gave me a bottle of wine as a going away present, so Ken and I had that for New Years. That is to say, we each had half a glass, as that’s the way we seem to roll. -_^ It’s nice stuff though–Miraflores 2007 Viognier El Dorado. Local, which is nice. Happy New Year to you–sounds like you rang it in in style! (Four bottles? I’m in awe.)

Leave a Reply

 
