Gexx in Knoxville

This blog is about Gexx, in Knoxville

A rundown

Posted by Gexx on November 21, 2007

It’s been a busy while. I’m posting a blog that i wrote in my word processor a while ago, so if you scroll down, you’ll see it dated to its creation. I have quite a few fronts to report on, though, so feel free to read on.

Cats

Boy

School

Friends

Thanksgiving

Cats –
Orion and Neci are both getting along very well. They are still vessels of boundless kittanic energy, so they keep me going and on the ball. Orion loves spicy tomato sauces as well as beans and pasta. She doesn’t like, however, any meat that I cook. She just got her rabies shot, so my little bitty itty kitten has two big shiny radies tags. The blingbling of the feline world? The vet is actually surprised at how small Orion is, so we’re waiting as long as possible to spay her. Probibly some point in January. As she’s an inside cat, if we don’t get her before she gets fertile, it’ll be a bit annoying on our part, but it won’t hurt her. I would rather she be large enough that she goes through her surgery safely.

Neci was spayed before I was even allowed to take her home. Granted she was with a recue group, so not actually belonging to anyone, I’m sure that the sentaments if she didn’t pull through ok would be different. Neci likes to drink water… out of my glass. It doesn’t matter how much is in her water bowl and whether it was just washed or not. She goes for my water glass. I wouldn’t mind so much if she was also not so facinated witht he bathroom. She likes to walk the rim of my tub whether or not i’m in it. She also likes to watch the toilet, and once surprised a male in the bathroom by popping up between his legs and watching the happenings.

They have also learned that if my phone alarm goes off, I don’t wake up right away. That gives them time to knock it off the table and under the bed, where I won’t hear it go off again. This means that I’ll stay in bed, where they are also snuggled under the covers (except for the one to knock the phone off, who i saw go right back under the covers when I did wake up once)sucking off my body heat. Neci alone, however, has learned that if she doesn’t want music, she just needs to jump on my clock radio. In fact, I’m totally messing with her by playing music from my computer. She came over and started walking on the clock radio, knowing that if she does it enough, she’ll turn it off.

School

I hate school. I want to be done. And the catch 22 is that it won’t be done until i put in sufficient effort. I want real life again. I don’t mind school, but I would love to do the part time thing. Not to put the cart before the horse or jinx me in any sort, the park will be opening my old position back up. If I get it, then I can totally and entirely do my real life job, which frustrated me to no end, but at the same time fulfilled me. I just hope that everyone will be able to put up with the exhaustion and intensity that this job gave me. I do so hope that it all works out. Losing that job, even though it was from funding problems, was a huge ego drain, and I feel so incomplete without it.

Yes, I’m one of those people who define themselves by their job. If I didn’t want a job so intent and crazed, would I be killing myself at school for it? All you old schoolers know that the one thing I prided myself on was what I got paid for.

Boy

Wow – well, he’s definitly proven interesting and good. Those two adjectives are horribly insufficient, but they’ll provide a base. Well, he did halloween with me and with some of my friends. We started at Sr. Taco. While there, we invited his brother, his brother’s wife, and another friend of theirs. So there were many people enjoying themselves. After Halloween dinner, we had planned on going out, but for some reason, perhaps because it was Wednesday, we ended up going to my place to drink vodka and play with kittens. The weekend after halloween was SEAC, and well, after past experiances with official stuff and bringing a sigoth, I was a little hesitant, but he wanted to come to the friday night dance. I figured that I had built up just enough of a reputation for myself between my past job and my time put into the department that I could introduce an “outsider” to the conference. Besides, it was local so everyone from Ktown brought their spouse(-to-be). Plus, it was not the first time for my circle to meet him. We had had a pot luck a few weeks earlier, and everyone had only positive things to say about him.

So we go to the dance and have a good time. One of my friends is in the middle of an intoxicated conversation with a rather renowned SE Archie, and as we were driving her home, we had to stay with her. He insisted that the conversation continue at the hotel bar when the dance venue kicked us out (midnight).

The following evening is the department party. I was definatly wanting to bring him to this as it’s very informal anyways so it’s a good venue to debut new members of the anthropology auxilary. We all dressed up, picked up two other friends along the way, and had a blast that evening. He even met and sweet talked the prof who had been giving me relationship advice before. The interesting thing is that, if I haven’t mentioned it before, this guy went to highschool with two of my best friends (one in the department), and he graduated with my girlfriend’s sister. At this party, we found that half of the significant others in the department (ok, a bit of an overexaggeration) went to highschool with them. This is a little podunk town abotu 1.5 hours from knoxville. Apparently they train them to put up with UT Anthopologists.

Friends

I love my friends, I really do. I do with all my heart, and I would and do do most anything for them, if I can. They’ve been having it rough, both the ones down here and apparently a few of the old schoolers. Guys, you’ll all get it done. Remember what I always said in college: enough hard work will get you your way.

Thanksgiving.

I’m hosting Thanksgiving! So come here! I’m doing an Orphan Thanksgiving for anyone who doesn’t have the time to head home. As far as I know, I’m doing meat, stuffing,sweet taters,a vegetable dish, and probibly I’ll make an apple cobbler just because. I currently have 4 definate guests, and two who will be showing up later (one being the boy who had originally planned on being here the whole time, but was slammed with a family obligation just this week, so I’ll deal.) I do hope that it goes well. I think we’ll be so totally fooded out, that we’ll be sooooo happy.

See – I update – occasionally

Leave a Reply

 
